Skip to main content


The Congregation of the Mission was founded by St. Vincent de Paul in 1625. Presently, it numbers about 4,000 members working in 86 countries around the world.

Priests of the Mission are also popularly known as Lazarists or Vincentians. They hold parish missions, are involved in pastoral activity, take care of the formation of prospective priests and of spiritual guidance for the Daughters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul.

Members of the Congregation of the Mission are Christ’s disciples whom God has called to join this community in order to promote Christ’s missionary message. They do their best to fulfill their vocation by pursuing their activity in line with the teaching, spirit and Rules of St. Vincent de Paul.

Our characteristic features are:

  • Joint apostolic work;
  • Brothers’ living in a community;
  • Sticking to the Rules of our Congregation;
  • Taking four perpetual vows of:
  1. Chastity
  2. Poverty
  3. Obedience
  4. Perseverance in the Congregation of the Mission while proclaiming the Gospel to the poor.


The goal of the Congregation of the Mission is following Jesus Christ and proclaiming the Gospel to the poor in the spirit of St. Vincent de Paul:

  • Doing our very best to put on Christ to accomplish our vocation.
  • Proclaiming the Gospel to the poor.
  • Helping both clergy and lay people in their personal formation.

The source of our work and activity is prayer. We give up ourselves and all our belongings to our community. We strive to live together in love which is the backbone of our apostolic activity.

Did you consider religious life?
Did you consider becoming a missionary?

Contact us!

More information